Support our Sponsors:

Go Back   Touch Arcade > Games and Apps > General Game Discussion and Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1521  
Old 11-02-2011, 03:20 PM
snakespeare snakespeare is offline
Junior Member
iPad, OS 4.x
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Locrian View Post
Ok, so I have a couple of these, thanks to the Ancient Vampire in the old sewer tunnels. Question... Can items with charges be recharged, or should I use them sparingly?

Also, at what level can I safely battle the Ice Elemental Queen, and where can she be found? I'm currently level 41. Need to upgrade the armor... And I'm sick of farming the AV.

Edit: does this chest even drop armor? I've been farming it for hours and haven't seen one piece. So far the AV is better loot for the time spent. If there's no cobalt here, where might I find it?

Thanks!
Well, yes the Ice Queen chest does have that armor... but have you updated your game? The older version of the game did not have cobalt armor. Do you see any cloaks? The older version didn't have cloaks here, either.

Someone (above) suggested this method. After you clear the room, stop in front of the chest and DO NOT OPEN IT, then SAVE game. Then OPEN the chest and, if it doesn't have the cobalt armor, use LOAD game on your save and look again. If you start seeing repeats, reboot your iPod/iPad/iPhone. (I guess the random seed numbers run out after a while.)

Also, AV has the exact same treasure every time in the version I am playing. I'm sure you must need to update.

Last edited by snakespeare; 11-02-2011 at 05:31 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #1522  
Old 11-02-2011, 09:55 PM
Locrian Locrian is offline
Junior Member
iPad 2, iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snakespeare View Post
Well, yes the Ice Queen chest does have that armor... but have you updated your game? The older version of the game did not have cobalt armor. Do you see any cloaks? The older version didn't have cloaks here, either.

Someone (above) suggested this method. After you clear the room, stop in front of the chest and DO NOT OPEN IT, then SAVE game. Then OPEN the chest and, if it doesn't have the cobalt armor, use LOAD game on your save and look again. If you start seeing repeats, reboot your iPod/iPad/iPhone. (I guess the random seed numbers run out after a while.)

Also, AV has the exact same treasure every time in the version I am playing. I'm sure you must need to update.
Thank you, Snakes. I'm not sure how to tell if I need to update, but my iPad tells me that all apps are up to date. Is there something more I need to try? How do I check my current version?

As for the chest, I did try the save/open technique, but the chest holds the exact same items every time I load and open. I have seen a few cloaks, and one Superb Silver Vest, but zero cobalt after 100+ runs through. I've gone from level 41 to 46 just doing the circuit for the chest.

Thanks a ton for the reply. I greatly appreciate it.

Locrian
Reply With Quote
  #1523  
Old 11-03-2011, 12:55 PM
Locrian Locrian is offline
Junior Member
iPad 2, iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snakespeare View Post
Well, yes the Ice Queen chest does have that armor... but have you updated your game? The older version of the game did not have cobalt armor. Do you see any cloaks? The older version didn't have cloaks here, either.

Someone (above) suggested this method. After you clear the room, stop in front of the chest and DO NOT OPEN IT, then SAVE game. Then OPEN the chest and, if it doesn't have the cobalt armor, use LOAD game on your save and look again. If you start seeing repeats, reboot your iPod/iPad/iPhone. (I guess the random seed numbers run out after a while.)

Also, AV has the exact same treasure every time in the version I am playing. I'm sure you must need to update.
Ok, figured it out. Seems I missed the device reset part. Once I did that, the random chest items resumed. Took a few hours, but I did end up with some Cobalt.

Thanks again for the tip!

Locrian
Reply With Quote
  #1524  
Old 11-03-2011, 01:51 PM
Amenbrother Amenbrother is offline
Senior Member
iPad Air, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3,414
Default hmmm

But once you find some cobalt and you take it thats it right? I mean you cant just keep grabbing stuff leaving dungeon going back and its full again can you?
Reply With Quote
  #1525  
Old 11-03-2011, 02:16 PM
patch732 patch732 is offline
Member
iPhone 5, iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: U.S.
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amenbrother View Post
But once you find some cobalt and you take it thats it right? I mean you cant just keep grabbing stuff leaving dungeon going back and its full again can you?
Yes, you can. Each time you leave the dungeon, you can reenter to loot the place again. Thats how people have acquired the entire cobalt set. It's highly unlikely that you'll find more than one piece in the chest at once (much less the entire set). A good tactic which was mentioned a few times previously is to make your way to the chest (which is a rather short walk) and save your game before you open it. After saving, open the chest. Don't like what you found? Load up your save game. Found a piece of cobalt armor you didn't previously have? Keep it, exit the dungeon, reenter said dungeon, make your way back to the treasure chest, save game, rinse, repeat.
Reply With Quote
  #1526  
Old 11-03-2011, 02:20 PM
snakespeare snakespeare is offline
Junior Member
iPad, OS 4.x
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amenbrother View Post
But once you find some cobalt and you take it thats it right? I mean you cant just keep grabbing stuff leaving dungeon going back and its full again can you?
SPOILER ALERT (read no further if you hate spoilers)

Some chests always have the same items and never refill. Others always refill and they even seem to adapt to your chosen class.

Here are the places where I farm. But if you play this way, you have to increase the difficulty level because low levels tend to get better gear and the game can become too easy.

diluted/tattered ... A Gnoll's Lair within the village walls ... Kargath's is the same stuff so no need to farm there

bronze/weak/worn ... A Dark Gnome's lair (go straight forward instead of left toward the lake)

minor/silver/quality/quality ... Dark Gnome Burrows (one chest is special, but I won't spoil that for you.)

major/gold/strong/fine ... An Orc Cave or Minotaur Warrens

greater/platinum/superb/superb ... Ice Queen (but mages, do Fire elemental king first as there's one chest in there with an item you want)

Last edited by snakespeare; 11-03-2011 at 02:35 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #1527  
Old 11-03-2011, 02:29 PM
Amenbrother Amenbrother is offline
Senior Member
iPad Air, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3,414
Default Thank you

Patch and Snake thanks for taking the time to type that all out and explain it to me, I appreciate it! This is going to help greatly
Reply With Quote
  #1528  
Old 11-03-2011, 02:47 PM
snakespeare snakespeare is offline
Junior Member
iPad, OS 4.x
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amenbrother View Post
Patch and Snake thanks for taking the time to type that all out and explain it to me, I appreciate it! This is going to help greatly
I must pass the credit backward to gregorysk, who told me about it about ten pages back.

I think the best way to tell if you have the most recent version is to check the items you can buy for Karma points. Don't hold me to it, but I believe the Dragon Cloak is new. But if you are finding the Cobalt armor and the Lion Cloak, then it's up-to-date.

By the way, don't toss out those Greater Agility Runes. You need to apply them to everything if you want to have any chance to kill Sheba.
Reply With Quote
  #1529  
Old 11-03-2011, 02:47 PM
Locrian Locrian is offline
Junior Member
iPad 2, iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amenbrother View Post
But once you find some cobalt and you take it thats it right? I mean you cant just keep grabbing stuff leaving dungeon going back and its full again can you?
As was mentioned, yes, you can continually return to that chest for a new shot at what you're looking for. What messed me up was that despite what I was reading, doing the save/open/load/open trick wasn't randomizing the chest loot. It was the same every time. However, after powering my device off and on again, the randomization was reset and things began working as I was reading they should. Had I tried that sooner I would have saved myself two days of running the chest circle with no Cobalt to show for it. Granted I worked my way up five levels and more than 150k in gold in that time, so it wasn't time wasted... But once the chest began randomizing it took only a couple/few hours to get what I was after.
Reply With Quote
  #1530  
Old 11-03-2011, 02:53 PM
Amenbrother Amenbrother is offline
Senior Member
iPad Air, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3,414
Default ....

I cant wait to get home and try it out, but I still have a few hours left at work
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2012, TouchArcade.com, LLC.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2008 - 2011, TouchArcade.com. Privacy Policy / DMCA Copyright Agent