★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

Avatars?! Are They Coming?!

03-22-2009, 11:31 AM
#1
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: You need to stalk me?
Posts: 2,117
Send a message via AIM to superbad
Avatars?! Are They Coming?!

Whoa

Eli Hodapp aka the TA FP contributor has one.. does it mean we get it too in the near future?

I looked at my User CP and there's an Edit Avatar Setting but currently not active.

PLEASE Visit The APPera | Follow Me Superbad24 | Follow The APPera Tweets
LOST. Let Go. Move On. Zing!
**GO LAKERS **
03-22-2009, 11:38 AM
#2
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Earth
Posts: 5,252
Come on arn!! Please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'M ON A MAC MOTHAF*@%!

Cloudcell, Plus+, Baseball Slugger, TTR: dannys95

03-22-2009, 12:18 PM
#3
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,208
I want an avatar. DHrox will bother me all day though if I did.

TA's resident ios rhythm game player
Former #1 Rhythm Control 2 Player (#2 now)
Unofficial #1 Gears Player (ignoring hackers)
Check out my Rhythm Game thread
03-22-2009, 02:36 PM
#4
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,438
Sorry. Was a mistake
03-22-2009, 02:45 PM
#5
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Wouldn't you like to know ;)
Posts: 2,632
Send a message via ICQ to brewstermax Send a message via AIM to brewstermax Send a message via MSN to brewstermax Send a message via Yahoo to brewstermax
Quote:
Originally Posted by arn View Post
Sorry. Was a mistake
Darn arn. Why do you have to do this to us. If it is that easy to enable avatars, why not do it?
03-22-2009, 03:08 PM
#6
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 6,509
Quote:
Originally Posted by brewstermax View Post
Darn arn. Why do you have to do this to us. If it is that easy to enable avatars, why not do it?
Yeah, I want to use an animated gif of a guy in a bear costume dancing on a table as my avatar. Is that so bad?

On a more serious note, I think no means no
03-22-2009, 03:09 PM
#7
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: You need to stalk me?
Posts: 2,117
Send a message via AIM to superbad
Quote:
Originally Posted by brewstermax View Post
Darn arn. Why do you have to do this to us. If it is that easy to enable avatars, why not do it?
because it takes server space.

avatars are usually around 1MB each times the number of all TA users = about 1GB space... maybe?

PLEASE Visit The APPera | Follow Me Superbad24 | Follow The APPera Tweets
LOST. Let Go. Move On. Zing!
**GO LAKERS **
03-22-2009, 03:24 PM
#8
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Wouldn't you like to know ;)
Posts: 2,632
Send a message via ICQ to brewstermax Send a message via AIM to brewstermax Send a message via MSN to brewstermax Send a message via Yahoo to brewstermax
Quote:
Originally Posted by superbad View Post
because it takes server space.

avatars are usually around 1MB each times the number of all TA users = about 1GB space... maybe?
Maybe. I'd send him a new HD if that's all he needs.
03-22-2009, 03:30 PM
#9
Joined: Feb 1983
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 1,268,691
The bigger issue as I understand it is the Pandora's box of extra moderation allowing site-wide avatars will open.
03-22-2009, 03:37 PM
#10
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: You need to stalk me?
Posts: 2,117
Send a message via AIM to superbad
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hodapp View Post
The bigger issue as I understand it is the Pandora's box of extra moderation allowing site-wide avatars will open.
hmm.. that's true. you'd never know when someone posts something offensive/vulgar

maybe assign an avatar mod. im leaving it up to arn/blake. fingers crossed

PLEASE Visit The APPera | Follow Me Superbad24 | Follow The APPera Tweets
LOST. Let Go. Move On. Zing!
**GO LAKERS **