Support our Sponsors:
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-22-2011, 02:33 PM
yourofl10 yourofl10 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,175
Send a message via Skype™ to yourofl10
Default iDOS Compatible Games List

Got iDOS + iPhone Explorer running and trying out various games seeing which ones work and which ones don't. So, I've decided to make a thread that me and others can add which games work for them.

Other iDOS related links below.

Note: When you add to the list of which games do work include the CPU cycles you were running the game at, what device you were using (iPad, iPhone 4, iPod Touch 4G, etc.), link to download the game, and any other info if you had to set up the sound in the game or such.

Color code:

Green - Works perfectly right off the bat and fast, no problems at all (Bananoid for example).
Yellow - A little slow, but playable.
Red - Doesn't work or barely playable. VERY slow.
Blue - Settings (sound, etc) need to be tweaked in order for the game to be playable.
Brown - Not exactly sure at the moment, needs to be into more.

List:

Bananoid -- http://www.dosgamesarchive.com/download/bananoid/ (I ran it at 3000 CPU cycles; iPod Touch 4G)
Ms Pac PC -- http://www.dosgamesarchive.com/download/ms-pac-pc/ (I ran it at 3000 CPU cycles; iPod Touch 4G)
Pac Pc II -- http://www.dosgamesarchive.com/download/pac-pc-ii/ (I ran it at 3000 CPU cycles; iPod Touch 4G)
Mario -- http://www.dosgamesarchive.com/download/mario/ (I ran it at 3000 CPU cycles; iPod Touch 4G)
Big Red Racing -- http://www.dosgamesarchive.com/download/big-red-racing/ (I ran it at 3000 CPU cycles; iPod Touch 4G)
Mario Brothers VGA -- http://www.dosgamesarchive.com/downl...-brothers-vga/ (I ran it at 3000 CPU cycles; iPod Touch 4G)

---------

List will be updated as more games are added from other users. These are just a few to get you started. Enjoy!

Related iDOS links:

iDOS Noobie Guide
Official iDOS Release thread.

Last edited by yourofl10; 01-22-2011 at 03:21 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2011, 02:37 PM
yourofl10 yourofl10 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,175
Send a message via Skype™ to yourofl10
Default

Reserved for expanded list if necessary.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-22-2011, 09:13 PM
newiphoneuser newiphoneuser is offline
Junior Member
iPod Touch (3rd Gen), OS 3.x
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 23
Default

donkey kong clone works fairly well..although a touch slow..using 64gb ipod touch
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-22-2011, 11:37 PM
death2saity death2saity is offline
Junior Member
iPhone 4
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Mean 18, though I might be the only one to remember it, works like a charm. No framerate/cycle adjustments needed on a non-jb iphone 4. [url]http://www.myabandonware.com/game/mean-18-8i#download[/url]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-23-2011, 02:49 AM
blades blades is offline
Member
iPod Touch (3rd Gen), OS 3.x
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 58
Default

God of Thunder = Runs a little slow if you have the sound enabled. But not too bad. Cycles at 1750-2000 Range. Runs a bit faster on Ipod Touch 4. A little bit slower but not unplayable on Ipod Touch 3G 64 meg.

You can get the public Free version here. Good story, great puzzles...some can be hard though. But fun nonetheless.

http://www.adeptsoftware.com/got/


Might I suggest NOT using the color yellow. It's hard to see in the text. For me anyways...

;
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-23-2011, 04:27 AM
Thorwan Thorwan is offline
Member
iPad (3rd Gen)
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 56
Default

Sorry no links, I imported my old disks/CDs

Lands of Lore -- (cycles=3000, apply patch 1.21 first or you'll get a black screen after character selection; iPad)
Lost Vikings -- (cycles=3000, works perfectly fine; iPad)

Settlers -- (cycles=3000, plays well but choppy sound; iPad)
Syndicate -- (cycles=2500, plays well but choppy sound; iPad)

Ultima 8 Pagan -- (Runs but is barely playable; iPad)
Stonekeep -- (Runs but is barely playable, cycles=3300 seem to work best; iPad)
Command & Conquer -- (Super slow; iPad)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-23-2011, 09:28 PM
pka4916 pka4916 is offline
Senior Member
iPad Air, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,163
Default

Lands of Lore works great
Warcraft 1 works great
Supaplex works great
HMM 2 works I think.. still need a no-cd update

Gabriel Knight II doesn't work.. need windows. but won't start in 3.1
Ripper works, but lags bad due to all the movies
Tex Murphy Pandora.... works, but lags bad,

Daggerfall.. I got it to work once with the minimal install, but lags bad,
trying to figure out the full install. by doing it on my pc.
anyone knows how to change the keyboard layout? can't get the :
to work.

Ultima 5+6+7 doesn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-23-2011, 10:34 PM
Jongjungbu Jongjungbu is offline
Senior Member
iPad, OS 4.x
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 368
Default

King's Quest V "talkie" version worked great right out of the box for me, including hearing that annoying owl talk to me. I haven't had a chance to try King's Quest VI or VII or my favorite Quest For Glory IV. These were the "newer" mouse-driven Sierra games that wouldn't work in the AGI interpreter/emulator, so I am ecstatic at the results of this first test game.

edit: Forgot to add, this was on an iPad.

Last edited by Jongjungbu; 01-23-2011 at 10:37 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-27-2011, 11:58 PM
Spencerc Spencerc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pka4916 View Post
Lands of Lore works great
Warcraft 1 works great
Supaplex works great
HMM 2 works I think.. still need a no-cd update

Gabriel Knight II doesn't work.. need windows. but won't start in 3.1
Ripper works, but lags bad due to all the movies
Tex Murphy Pandora.... works, but lags bad,

Daggerfall.. I got it to work once with the minimal install, but lags bad,
trying to figure out the full install. by doing it on my pc.
anyone knows how to change the keyboard layout? can't get the :
to work.

Ultima 5+6+7 doesn't work.
How did you manage to get warcraft 1 working when i try to run it, it states must be run under win32.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-04-2011, 11:42 AM
pka4916 pka4916 is offline
Senior Member
iPad Air, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,163
Default

it's a DOS game.
I just start the exe file that's in that folder.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2012, TouchArcade.com, LLC.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2008 - 2011, TouchArcade.com. Privacy Policy / DMCA Copyright Agent