★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic

02-21-2011, 01:50 PM
#1
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 473
Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic

Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic




Looks like Aspyr finally updated this old game to run on modern Intel Macs, but didn't optimize it. Many of the reviews specifically mention terrible performance, which is a shame for an 8-year-old game that ran perfectly on the original XBOX.

$20, only certain video cards supported, 3GB space required.

I was hoping the ($10) Windows version on Steam would go cross-platform, but it seems that isn't in the cards. I guess an iPad version is out of the question. I'm not buying this game yet again with such bad reviews.

Last edited by JindoFox; 02-21-2011 at 01:54 PM. Reason: added pics
02-21-2011, 02:08 PM
#2
Joined: Feb 1983
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 1,268,691
The only reason this wouldn't run on the iPad is because Aspyr seems to have some hard limit of only 15 minutes of time spent on any particular port. That's the only way I can explain why they're universally so shitty.

03-01-2011, 07:47 AM
#3
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,099
Damn, hold it for a second: Aspyr states that this doesnīt run on a late 2010 MBP 13"? What the hell?

I just dropped em a mail, here is hope they fix this issue. Come on, Aspyr! This game deserves a GOOD port, god damnit.

Edit:

Got an answer, might be helpful for some so iīll post:

Quote:
Hello,

Thank you for contacting Aspyr Technical Support!

Most of the performance issues we are seeing reported are on Macs with integrated graphics chips, primarily the 320m. We have identified the issue and are working on a patch to improve things.

In the meantime, if you want to improve KOTOR performance, you can give this a try:

-Launch Terminal
Applications/Utilities/Terminal

-enter the following:

defaults write com.aspyr.KOTOR EnableBumpyShiny -bool YES

This should improve performance for you until we can get an offical patch released.

IF you do not like the effects, you can try it of by entering this:
defaults write com.aspyr.KOTOR EnableBumpyShiny -bool NO

Let us know if you have any questions.

Feel free to contact us with any further issues or concerns.

Thank you,

Aspyr Technical Support

Challenge me on Gamecenter: tblrsa
App-Echo - Your place for German iOS App and Game Reviews
Follow us on Twitter!

Last edited by tblrsa; 03-02-2011 at 12:06 AM.
03-05-2011, 02:10 PM
#4
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Can you, or anyone comment on this fix? I want to get KotOR again, but I haven't heard anything about whether this helps!
03-29-2011, 04:10 AM
#5
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,099
Seems like Asypr has updated their copy. Can anyone tell me if the latest version does run fine on a 13" MBP 2010? I havenīt purchased it yet, still holding on to.

Challenge me on Gamecenter: tblrsa
App-Echo - Your place for German iOS App and Game Reviews
Follow us on Twitter!
03-29-2011, 12:52 PM
#6
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 50
I have a MBP late 2008. I would love to play this again. Anyone tried with this same macbook?

I just put in 8 gigs of ram too. The video is what I am afraid of.
05-03-2011, 03:24 PM
#7
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,099
Okay, letīs cut the crap. Iīll give this baby a test run on my Late 2010 13" MBP. Will report on performance later.

Edit: Working fine on my machine. Yes, Iīve played till Taris so far, all good.

Challenge me on Gamecenter: tblrsa
App-Echo - Your place for German iOS App and Game Reviews
Follow us on Twitter!

Last edited by tblrsa; 05-04-2011 at 12:35 AM.
06-04-2011, 02:05 AM
#8
Doctor of Game of the Week-ology
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: Everywhere and Nowhere
Posts: 7,681
It's running great on my Macbook so far. Graphics are pretty good.
06-06-2011, 06:54 AM
#9
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
I must mention about the special graphic done in the Knights of the Old Republic. Just feel like living in the game while playing.