★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

iPhone: ZapAttack

02-23-2011, 12:08 PM
ZapAttack

Hey Guys.

Newbie here but old time game dev. Just wanted to drop in and announce my first ios game - ZapAttack.

It's an old school tribute to the 80's arcade games - basically a very simple, blast everything, mad-skills-rule kind of game. Very simple mechanic but it gets quite frantic later on. I used to work on Arcade games back in the day and this is something I've had kicking around in my noggin for quite some time now - I finally got my act together and actually built it.

It should - the gods of approvals willing - be available this friday on the app store - I'll edit this when I have a link to the actual app.

It'll run on all generations of the Ipod Touch and Iphone (well, at least 3G onwards anyway) that are at IOS 4.2.

The ipad version should be available about 2 weeks later.

Here's a video of gameplay (taken on the PC version, since my engine is 100% cross platform).

Youtube link | Pop Up

Some (retina) screen shots here

Totally ready to chat about the game, experiences developing it, the tech, whatever!

Jake Simpson - TNBGames.

Last edited by JakeSimpson; 02-23-2011 at 12:20 PM. Reason: formatting.
02-25-2011, 11:51 AM
And here is the direct App Store link!

http://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/zapattack/id420603590?mt=8

If you are into 80's retro blasters, this one is for you!

02-25-2011, 01:09 PM
And lets get that right and use the US version of the link.

Whoops.

http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/zapattack/id420603590?mt=8&ls=1
02-25-2011, 01:11 PM
Game Impressions

Just downloaded this today and been playing it on and off all day. Real old school shooter, reminiscent of the C64 days. Has a classic feel to it and gets truely mental the further in you get. I've seen worse games than this on Xbox Live so the devs must be doing something right.