★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

App codes - best way to distribute

03-15-2011, 03:38 PM
App codes - best way to distribute

I realize that a thread like this was opened in the promo code forum and the user who posted it really didn't use much tact when he approached the subject so it got locked.

However, I think the subject of promo codes being exposed to "lurkers" is a fair topic for discussion.

I'm not a developer (so maybe I shouldn't even be posting here), but I feel like it's an issue that developers have to deal with. The fact is that if 10 or so promo codes are put out in the promo code forum, they're usually gone in minutes if not quicker. And very few of them are "claimed", which leads one to believe that they are being taken by people who probably aren't even registered in this forum.

It may be an unfair assumption, but I'd say those "lurkers" are taking those codes, downloading the apps and you'll never hear a peep from them. No feedback to developers. No reviews. Probably not even a star rating.

I'm not writing this for my benefit, but to just acknowledge that there are many dedicated forum members who not only provide feedback on the apps they got codes for, but also are fairly dependable in writing reviews. So, it's just my 2 cents, but giving codes out via PM requests or to those who post that they want one and PM them one is the best win-win situation in most cases. Developers may even look to see how many posts people have before offering one to them.