★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

Assassin's Creed II

03-17-2011, 02:08 AM
#1
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 10,505
Assassin's Creed II


03-17-2011, 04:56 AM
#2
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 43
Anyone know how this or other games run on a Mac Mini?

I've been thinking about getting a Mac and the Mini looks great.

I know what you're going to say, it's not built for gaming, but I already have a PC, 360, Wii and PS3, I'd just like to have the occassional game.
03-17-2011, 05:36 AM
#3
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by pblive View Post
Anyone know how this or other games run on a Mac Mini?

I've been thinking about getting a Mac and the Mini looks great.

I know what you're going to say, it's not built for gaming, but I already have a PC, 360, Wii and PS3, I'd just like to have the occassional game.
It runs great but ONLY on supported hardware! Please remember that. Everyone says it is a horrible port, but everyone who has a SUPPORTED graphics card says it runs basically as good as Windows. So DO NOT buy it if you don't have a supported graphics card, so a 4850 or better, or it will run horribly.
03-17-2011, 06:50 AM
#4
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 43
Thanks.

Niot much choice with a mini, as you can't change the on-board NVIDA 320M
03-18-2011, 03:42 AM
#5
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 692
I just hope this means brotherhood ia coming soon to the MAS. If you have a high end iMac this game runs beautifully.
03-18-2011, 02:52 PM
#6
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Lisbon
Posts: 12
Send a message via Skype™ to joaovc
I'd get it on Steam instead. I have a 15 inch 2010 MacBook pro and the mac version of the game runs *very* slowly even at very low settings. In windows / bootcamp it runs great at very high settings on the same hardware! By using steam you get both the mac and the pc version and you only pay once.