★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

What can I change with an update?

03-19-2011, 09:12 AM
#1
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: NYC
Posts: 42
What can I change with an update?

Hi everyone,

I am going to release my first update for Globee and would like to know what can i change with this update?

App name?
Categories?
Keywords?

Thank you.
03-19-2011, 02:52 PM
#2
All of those can be changed per version.

03-31-2011, 04:22 AM
#3
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 65
When you are going to release an update, apple doesn't show all your previous ratings any more, as soon as you get 5 new ratings. ....this can be bad or bliss....

Last edited by artcue; 04-12-2011 at 02:35 AM.
03-31-2011, 09:58 AM
#4
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: NYC
Posts: 42
Im gonna go ahead and say that's a bliss, lol.
03-31-2011, 05:11 PM
#5
Quote:
Originally Posted by artcue View Post
When you are going to release an update, apple doesn't show all your previous rankings any more, as soon as you get 5 new rankings. ....this can be bad or bliss....
Wait, "rankings" or "ratings"?

iPhone/iPod Touch Apps by Tiny Tech Studios
03-31-2011, 05:58 PM
#6
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 304
ratings.
04-01-2011, 07:58 PM
#7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Runloop View Post
ratings.
That's what I thought...in that case @Kriio, it might not be bliss, hehe. Since the current version of your App is already highly rated.

iPhone/iPod Touch Apps by Tiny Tech Studios
04-02-2011, 12:32 PM
#8
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: NYC
Posts: 42
well, I dont mean to brag but my trivia games rank was 946 last time i checked so you know...my app is easy to find, lol. I want to try a few different things with the new update. I have a new feature i want to try out as well as fix the keywords. It will be a bit unfortunate to lose the ratings, but i feel like that is the best solution for globee.
04-02-2011, 02:22 PM
#9
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kriio View Post
well, I dont mean to brag but my trivia games rank was 946 last time i checked so you know...my app is easy to find, lol. I want to try a few different things with the new update. I have a new feature i want to try out as well as fix the keywords. It will be a bit unfortunate to lose the ratings, but i feel like that is the best solution for globee.
I don't think keywords are particular useful for games. Who has ever found and downloaded a game based on keywords. They are much more useful for utility apps in my opinion.
04-02-2011, 04:21 PM
#10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Runloop View Post
I don't think keywords are particular useful for games. Who has ever found and downloaded a game based on keywords. They are much more useful for utility apps in my opinion.
I dont agree. Lets say somebody loves to play a game like Sonic - and your game exactly copies that style (as an example) - but of course you can not name it "Sonic like game"...but you can put in the keyword "Sonic". So everyone who searches for "Sonic" finds your game as well. I think for finding games similar to famous brands the keywords are a great benefit.

Axel

http://www.fancy-factory.com/
http://www.facebook.com/fancyfactorygames
http://twitter.com/fancyfactory

Last edited by FancyFactory; 04-02-2011 at 04:26 PM.