Support our Sponsors:

Go Back   Touch Arcade > Games and Apps > iPhone and iPad Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 04-06-2011, 09:25 AM
djflippy djflippy is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 4S, iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,444
Default

@niebau - Thanks for the detailed response! Will give it a try. No problem mentioning your influences; it's a great way to help people understand what the game is all about.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 04-06-2011, 12:25 PM
undeadcow undeadcow is online now
Senior Member
iPod Touch (5th Gen), iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 9,006
Default

I can be more specific later but am really enjoying Knighturn so far, highly recommended even at $3.99.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 04-06-2011, 01:35 PM
niebau niebau is offline
Senior Member
iPod Touch (4th Gen)
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 350
Default Bugs & promo codes

Hi again,

The good news is that I will be able to provide new promo codes soon.

The bad news is that due to a bug units cannot get past Lvl 3 right now .
The bug is fixed already, as well as a memory leak that has the potential to lead to a crash after some time.
Two very unnecessary bugs, but well, that kind of things just happen ...

The new version is in Apple's waiting queue for review already, and I was even bold enough to ask for an expeditious review.
If it will be declined, it will probably take about 7 days until the fixed version will be availabe in the store.

/sarcasmOn
Well, that's a start every developer is dreaming of .
/sarcasmOff
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 04-06-2011, 01:59 PM
ArtNJ ArtNJ is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,791
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by niebau View Post
Hi again,

The good news is that I will be able to provide new promo codes soon.

The bad news is that due to a bug units cannot get past Lvl 3 right now .
The bug is fixed already, as well as a memory leak that has the potential to lead to a crash after some time.
Two very unnecessary bugs, but well, that kind of things just happen ...

The new version is in Apple's waiting queue for review already, and I was even bold enough to ask for an expeditious review.
If it will be declined, it will probably take about 7 days until the fixed version will be availabe in the store.

/sarcasmOn
Well, that's a start every developer is dreaming of .
/sarcasmOff
I would love a code. Game sounds like I might like it. I have nostalgia for Fantasy General, but never really got into Wesnoth.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 04-06-2011, 06:36 PM
ChaosIsMe ChaosIsMe is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 32
Default

Loving the game so far, really sucks about the leveling bug. I highly recommend this game to fans of TBS games. I like it a lot more than Wesnoth.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 04-07-2011, 01:27 PM
djflippy djflippy is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 4S, iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,444
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by niebau View Post
Hi again,

The good news is that I will be able to provide new promo codes soon.

The bad news is that due to a bug units cannot get past Lvl 3 right now .
The bug is fixed already, as well as a memory leak that has the potential to lead to a crash after some time.
Two very unnecessary bugs, but well, that kind of things just happen ...

The new version is in Apple's waiting queue for review already, and I was even bold enough to ask for an expeditious review.
If it will be declined, it will probably take about 7 days until the fixed version will be availabe in the store.

/sarcasmOn
Well, that's a start every developer is dreaming of .
/sarcasmOff
As I often tell people, don't worry about it; all bugs are unintentional. We'll still be here to snap it up. Most people won't even make it to level 3, before the update drops, unless they hang out here. lol
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 04-07-2011, 02:21 PM
undeadcow undeadcow is online now
Senior Member
iPod Touch (5th Gen), iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 9,006
Default

On level 2 I noticed that the enemy units just keep respawning (as does my army) which seems to lengthen the game. The last go-round were were at a standstill forever before the enemy over-ran be. That they keep respawning seems to make it much more difficult (not that I don't enjoy difficult games). I would prefer if there was an option to turn off enemy respawn. Perhaps even adding with that the ability to turn off player respawn within a level.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 04-07-2011, 02:48 PM
Marcus70 Marcus70 is offline
Senior Member
iPad Air, iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 947
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by undeadcow View Post
On level 2 I noticed that the enemy units just keep respawning (as does my army) which seems to lengthen the game. The last go-round were were at a standstill forever before the enemy over-ran be. That they keep respawning seems to make it much more difficult (not that I don't enjoy difficult games). I would prefer if there was an option to turn off enemy respawn. Perhaps even adding with that the ability to turn off player respawn within a level.
This SRPG is a bit different, then some, were you have basically, an unlimited number of units. When your character dies they are just wounded and are able to come back in several turns when they at are at full health. There is a maximum number of units (shown at the bottom) to tell you how many units you can have out on the battlefield at one time.

So your strategy in this game is to grow your army to capture things like Paslisades which adds one to your maximum (and decrease the enemies by one). When you capture the enemies base you prevent them from respawning anymore.

Last edited by Marcus70; 04-07-2011 at 02:51 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 04-07-2011, 03:05 PM
niebau niebau is offline
Senior Member
iPod Touch (4th Gen)
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 350
Default

@undeadcow:

The second level is certainly not easy because you don't have that many troops available, yet. But if you hire an additional mercenary in advance, focus on conquering palisades first, and most importantly keep Juliet alive, you should be fine.

In a dead-end situation you might consider the Retreat option. With the knowledge about the map, and the experience and gold you have gathered then, a 2nd try will much likely lead to a success.

Another option is to switch the difficulty to 'Easier' at the beginning (one opponent less) until you are more familiar with the tactics in Knighturn. You might be surprised how much difference one opponent more or less makes in this game.

But I would love to hear some other opinions about the 2nd scenario. Maybe the difficulty of scenario 2 is really exaggerated, and the number of opponents should be decreased by one in general. Some other opinions?

As for switching off respawning:
I think one of the clues of Knighturn is actually the respawning. Switching it off would be like not allowing the opponent to build a base in games like Command & Conquer or Warcraft.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 04-07-2011, 03:08 PM
undeadcow undeadcow is online now
Senior Member
iPod Touch (5th Gen), iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 9,006
Default

Don't get me wrong, Knighturn is a top notch game and I'm really enjoying it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcus70 View Post
This SRPG is a bit different, then some, were you have basically, an unlimited number of units. ...When you capture the enemies base you prevent them from respawning anymore.
Maybe it's a problem with my strategy being overly defensive but it seems my units get picked off before they can make it past half way to the only enemy paslisade so there's a standstill. Given both sides regenerate units after about 5 turns it's a lock. Although I have played through twice and gotten better each time. I'm not sure if that is from the experience/gold boost after retreating or not. Although the enemy paslisade is tucked away in the corner I can see how the obstacles divide the stage creating two pathways. I think one of the things I like is that it's so challenging I just want to be convinced it'll all boil down to finding the right strategy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by niebau View Post
As for switching off respawning:
I think one of the clues of Knighturn is actually the respawning. Switching it off would be like not allowing the opponent to build a base in games like Command & Conquer or Warcraft.
The enemy respawn does add a nice component to it. Even though I haven't figured it out yet I'm not sure I'd advise reduced difficulty (that wouldn't be very macho). I'll give it another go and report back.

Last edited by undeadcow; 04-07-2011 at 03:22 PM..
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2012, TouchArcade.com, LLC.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2008 - 2011, TouchArcade.com. Privacy Policy / DMCA Copyright Agent