★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

No Mac but great idea!

04-18-2011, 03:45 PM
#1
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 483
No Mac but great idea!

I have a great idea for an ipod touch game but don't have a mac. Is there a way to make an app without a Mac?

Plus and Openfeint Accounts: Snowdude11
04-18-2011, 04:17 PM
#2
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: alea iacta est
Posts: 1,368
Mr. Ugly time:

Your idea is worthless. You have no programming or art experience. You'll never get farther than buying a book or two.

You could code it on a PC and compile or possibly even submit on hackintosh. But you'd never get that far.

04-18-2011, 04:45 PM
#3
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 34
...am I missing something? Way harsh...
04-18-2011, 05:30 PM
#4
Joined: Dec 2009
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,674
Quote:
Originally Posted by K?! View Post
Mr. Ugly time:

Your idea is worthless. You have no programming or art experience. You'll never get farther than buying a book or two.

You could code it on a PC and compile or possibly even submit on hackintosh. But you'd never get that far.

How do you know he/she has no programming or art experience?

---

As for developing without a mac how about this thread, yeah i know hard to find

http://forums.toucharcade.com/showthread.php?t=89806
04-18-2011, 05:35 PM
#5
Joined: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 741
There are several ways of building iPhone games on PCs but I'm not up to date with the specifics. There are 2D engines but you could include Unity and Unreal. With the Unreal UDK I think you can even control your PC prototype with an iPhone/iPod/iPad via the UDK remote app.

If you could use one of those engines to create a cool game, at that point you'd know it was worth investing in a used mac mini and a dev subscription.

If you know a bit about C programming on the PC a great place to start would be the free SDK on the PowerVR developer site. I know of several major games that have been based on it.

If you are looking for a way of getting an app to the app store without a mac, it might be possible but I suspect you have to pay for the service. Maybe someone else will know more.

-=< Fat Owl With A Jetpack >=-
-=< Topia World Builder >=-
-=< Twitter >=-
-=< Blog >=-
04-18-2011, 05:43 PM
#6
Joined: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 741
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse Arcadia View Post
...am I missing something? Way harsh...
Yeah, that's the kind of response usually reserved for someone looking for a coder willing to make their idea for a small percentage.

I know hundreds of coders and very few have access to a mac. It's a totally fair question. I'd never have owned one if it wasn't for iPhone dev. Glad I did though.

-=< Fat Owl With A Jetpack >=-
-=< Topia World Builder >=-
-=< Twitter >=-
-=< Blog >=-
04-18-2011, 07:27 PM
#7
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by GlennX View Post
I'd never have owned one if it wasn't for iPhone dev. Glad I did though.
Same. And I am still hoping to get away from it, Mac OS is so painfully slow and ugly, but iOS is nice.
04-18-2011, 09:41 PM
#8
Have lots of money.

You either pay someone else to do it once, or buy a mac and be able to do it yourself whenever you want. There are ways around it, but money and difficulty wise, itd be wiser to save up for the Mac.
04-18-2011, 11:23 PM
#9
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: ΖΞN
Posts: 304
Airplay SDK, that's what I use. Applied for the free iOS licence from them, though I did still have to pay Apple $99/59 to both test (on device) and submit the finished article...worth every penny without a doubt. The simulator is also ideal, and allows for remote control and video streaming. I code in pure C++, thus all PC experience (and OpenGL2) has been carried forward to iOS (etc). Also the SDK allows for extensions to be built with other SDK's (the one most people here use for example), then using the created extensions via the above.

Also, conversion/porting to other mobile devices is all handled! I've not done so myself (neither have I used the extension side (EDK) as my app is as custom as I could get it)...but it's nice to know that there are no limits (for another very small fee).

Nope, don't work there lol.
04-19-2011, 12:47 AM
#10
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: alea iacta est
Posts: 1,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.Ugly View Post
How do you know he/she has no programming or art experience?
From this thread:
http://forums.toucharcade.com/showthread.php?t=79912.

Seems like a rehash, doesn't it? Which is why I'm being harsh.