★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

Broken iTunes icon?!

04-25-2011, 06:08 AM
#1
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: ΖΞN
Posts: 304
Broken iTunes icon?!

(edit: issue resolved)

I have no idea how, but by uploading an update it has "broken" our old 1.0 icon on the store. What is now being displayed is the alpha icon which I uploaded around 2 months ago when the name was registered. I've contacted IC, just wondered if anyone has heard of this happening before and if there's a way to get our 1.0 icon back displaying.

btw: the update fixes 3GS and Touch 3. I feel quite rediculous about how that went - somehow I believed those devices only had GLES1.1...I was seriously shocked to find they had GLES2.0 when the app went live. Another valuable lesson learned.

BubbleSand - "the best sand app"
Tetroms

Last edited by blitter; 04-28-2011 at 04:24 PM. Reason: issue resolved
04-25-2011, 06:59 AM
#2
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: In a car
Posts: 324
This is not related to your problem, but what do you mean by registering the app name?how is that done?thanks

My Twitter:@Tudor

04-25-2011, 07:24 AM
#3
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: ΖΞN
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrLeQuack View Post
This is not related to your problem, but what do you mean by registering the app name?how is that done?thanks
In iTunes Connect: Manage Your Apps, Add New App (top-left button...kinda invisible until you look at it then it turns blue ;-)...it took me a minute too!).

BubbleSand - "the best sand app"
Tetroms
04-25-2011, 07:45 AM
#4
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 194
Send a message via AIM to DrummerB Send a message via MSN to DrummerB
Did you try to upload a new icon? You don't have to submit an update of the app to change the iTunes icon as far as I know.

Developer of Practice Pro for musicians.
04-25-2011, 01:46 PM
#5
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 977
Send a message via MSN to MindJuice Send a message via Skype™ to MindJuice
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrummerB View Post
Did you try to upload a new icon? You don't have to submit an update of the app to change the iTunes icon as far as I know.
That was the case previously, but now you do have to submit a new update to change the icon. Apple wants a chance to review the icon.
04-25-2011, 04:59 PM
#6
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: ΖΞN
Posts: 304
This is why i don't get how it changed! It shouldn't be possible but we all know what computers are like.

BubbleSand - "the best sand app"
Tetroms

Last edited by blitter; 04-25-2011 at 05:45 PM. Reason: typo
04-25-2011, 05:28 PM
#7
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,799
I have a really slow/intermittent internet connection on the boat and I always worry about corruption when I upload my apps. My first instinct would be to contact the resolution centre to see if they can retrieve a cached icon or permit a new icon submission, independent of a binary.

 /l、
(゚、 。 7
 l、 ~ヽ
 じしf_, )ノ
04-25-2011, 05:50 PM
#8
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: ΖΞN
Posts: 304
That's cool starjimstar! I imagine you must park up at some exotic location and draw from the inspiration surrounding you, coding fine apps :-)

You shouldn't worry about errors, CRC will deal with that for us.

Yes they have the new icon already (same as on my site...the png version is there too if you're reading Steve lol).

BubbleSand - "the best sand app"
Tetroms
04-27-2011, 09:35 AM
#9
Joined: Dec 2010
Location: ΖΞN
Posts: 304
Still no response from tech support. It's like telling a shop that their window display is damaged but the shop keeper just stands there for a few days! Sales were down to single figures yesterday, I guess it's time to move on and make a free game...that's what people want.

BubbleSand - "the best sand app"
Tetroms
04-27-2011, 09:41 AM
#10
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 194
Send a message via AIM to DrummerB Send a message via MSN to DrummerB
Apple doesn't care about developers. At least not about small indie developers. We're not the ones paying them our money.

Developer of Practice Pro for musicians.