★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

Small fish, big scary App Store

05-07-2011, 04:09 PM
Junior Member [Original Poster]
Small fish, big scary App Store

Hi guys,

I'm new to the forum, although browsed it many times to find the many hidden gems of the App Store. I am a gameplay programmer by profession (with many triple-A titles under my belt), but unfortunately I might be soon out of a job. But I am taking this as an opportunity to do something I have always wanted to do, go indie, but at the same time it feels like a massive risk, it almost seems unreasonable, and I was hoping to find some guys out their who were perhaps once in a similar situation and could offer me some insights.

My initial plan was to create a fun little game that is quite simple (in terms of user input and accessibility), yet highly polished, with a code development time of around 6 man months. I would consider trying to get it out on multiple platforms (iPhone, iPad, maybe even Android). I would need to outsource most of the artwork (any idea how much this would cost?).

It's really hard to get any kind of sales figures (apart from the big successes). What is the market like? Is it very hit and miss, based on luck? Or does a high quality game always at least generate some revenue? Basically want I want to know is, in a years time when my funds have dried up, will I be earning enough to live? I'd be very interested in hearing your experiences and words of wisdom

Thanks,

Bangz.
05-07-2011, 07:48 PM