★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

iPhone: Sentinel Strategy Discussion

04-13-2009, 03:58 PM
Sentinel Strategy Discussion

Ok, so I wanted to start a thread discussing strategies for Sentinel (there are already threads for Dungeon Defense, Elemental Monster, Fieldrunners, Geodefense, etc), but I think the strategies in Sentinel Differ for various reasons.

I started on Medium, and I have yet to beat the second map. I can get close to 90 waves, but I can't seem to get all the way. My issue seems to deal with running out of money too fast. I hope to get a good discussion running on different strategies used by you TD geniuses out there (myself NOT included ).

I am the managing editor of nodpad.com.

Sporting an iPod Touch 2 Gen
04-13-2009, 04:07 PM
Well I just started playing today, decided to have a go on easy just to get the hang of it. I can definitely say it's better to upgrade first than it is to place more units. This is usually the opposite of most TD games.

eg:
The laser tower costs 20 to build and does 1 damage.
The first upgrade costs 20 and upgrades it to 2 damage (I know this is contradictive to what I just said but wait...)
The next upgrade costs 20 and doubles the damage to 4
The last upgrade costs 20 and doubles the damage to 8
In summary, one laser tower doing 8 damage costs $80.
This is opposed to building 4 towers, each doing 1 damage for a total of 4 damage.
The ideal situation would be to have these towers at bends and curves in the path (on the inside) closest to the point of invasion. Max them out and then work your way down the path.
I didn't look much into the bomb or the slow-down one, but also what I realized is that it's best to get the drones out as early as possible. And if you use the strategy I mentioned, you will be all set for a good number of ways afterwards, so you can save up and get interest.
Don't forget, try not to spend before a wave ends, this way you'll maximize your interest.