★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

Why are the HD-Versions always more expensive?

06-09-2011, 12:18 PM
Why are the HD-Versions always more expensive?

Hey.

I really wanna know why the HD-Versions of iOS-Games are usually more expensive than the Iphone/Itouch-Versions.

Im not a developer, so I wouldnt know too much about it, but if the Game is developed for Ipad and Iphone/Itouch arent the developers basically developing just "one game", but decide later on to charge more for the HD-Version?

Or is it really more expensive to develop the HD-Version? Im not sure. I just think they develop it in HD-Resolution first and then scale it down for the other devices.

It just bugs me, when I see some titles I really would love to buy and the Iphone/Itouch-Version is 0,99$, while the HD-Version is still 4,99$ e.g.

Thanks for any answers I might get
06-09-2011, 01:06 PM
It depends on the game...sometime they completely redesign it from scratch to utilize the larger interface, while sometimes it really just is a large-scale version of the same game. Think about it this way: why do most good PC and Mac games cost up to $49.99, while even the best games for iOS devices most of the time don't even go up price-wise over $9.99?

I really think part of it is psychological, people don't think of the iPod/iPhone has a major gaming system, but they think that the iPad is because it has a larger screen, meaning more potential for more functionality, while computers have even larger screens, so people find that there can be even more potential...so the price continually goes up the larger the screen?

Just my thoughts.

Founder and CEO - iTracki.com -- iPod, iPhone, iPad, Mac Apps & News

06-09-2011, 01:10 PM
More content most of the time. And the iPad versions usually get better UI too. I prefer to play my games on the iPad just because it's easier n much more fun.
06-09-2011, 01:14 PM
Pixels are expensive. iPads are bigger.
06-09-2011, 02:20 PM