★ TouchArcade needs your help. Click here to support us on Patreon.

Trailer for Boost 2

06-13-2011, 06:00 PM
#1
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 126
Trailer for Boost 2

I would like to put together a quality trailer video for Boost 2. I thought I could do it myself, but so far my attempts have been...underwhelming.

So here I am. I'm just putting the word out there to see if anyone has experience with this sort of thing, or if you know of anybody with some experience who might be interested in helping me. I would like to do this with a real camera instead of using a simulator capture.

Last edited by jlanis86; 06-13-2011 at 06:05 PM.
06-15-2011, 06:49 AM
#2
Hi jlanis86,

My suggestion would be to use the simulator. You will get 1000% cleaner, crisper video to show off your game.

That is provided the simulator is fast enough to run your game...but that should be the case.

If you record with a camera your video will be nowhere near as good quality as the simulator can give you. You could always crop the video and place it into an iPad or iPhone 'border' so it looks like it's running on the phone, a lot of people do this too.

06-15-2011, 07:19 AM
#3
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,068
Honestly, using a simulator (done right) looks so much better and more professional than a camera.

And you need some good music as well!

www.oneclickmac.com - News, Reviews and Discussion on Mac App Store Gaming.

Latest Reviews:
RAGE Mafia II Doodle Fit
06-15-2011, 04:45 PM
#4
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 126
I agree, but this game relies heavily on the accelerometer and you can't capture the device tilt with the simulator. I know I can use something like iSimulate to record the accelerometer movement on the simulator, but from a viewer's perspective, it would be much nicer to see the actual device tilt and react to the gameplay. That's why a video capture would be my first choice. If you know of anyone who has done video work before, send me a PM. Thanks!

Last edited by jlanis86; 06-15-2011 at 08:54 PM.
06-15-2011, 07:54 PM
#5
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 194
Send a message via AIM to DrummerB Send a message via MSN to DrummerB
Maybe this is an overkill, but an other option might be to record on the simulator, then render the recording onto a 3D iPhone model in the modeling app of your choice and animate the device's rotation.

Developer of Practice Pro for musicians.
06-15-2011, 09:39 PM
#6
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,741
If you want someone to capture some really nice, high quality video of the game in action you could ask Sanuku here on the forum. He's been posting a ton of great videos in various game threads free of charge. Example: http://forums.toucharcade.com/showpo...5&postcount=68

Obviously it won't capture the tilt because it's a direct feed, but it's a good place to start if you then do something like DrummerB's idea.

  /l、
゙(゚、 。 7 ノ
 l、゙ ~ヽ
 じしf_, )ノ
06-15-2011, 10:03 PM
#7
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by MidianGTX View Post
If you want someone to capture some really nice, high quality video of the game in action you could ask Sanuku here on the forum. He's been posting a ton of great videos in various game threads free of charge. Example: http://forums.toucharcade.com/showpo...5&postcount=68

Obviously it won't capture the tilt because it's a direct feed, but it's a good place to start if you then do something like DrummerB's idea.
Interesting. How does he get a direct feed?
06-15-2011, 10:26 PM
#8
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,741
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlanis86 View Post
Interesting. How does he get a direct feed?
Like this http://forums.toucharcade.com/showpo...9&postcount=49

  /l、
゙(゚、 。 7 ノ
 l、゙ ~ヽ
 じしf_, )ノ
06-15-2011, 10:33 PM
#9
Joined: Jun 2011
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlanis86 View Post
Interesting. How does he get a direct feed?
Looks like he uses a capture card. I was thinking that'd be the best way to do it -- that way, one device (either iDevice or PC) is only running the game and another device (PC) is recording. Quality of capture card would dictate video quality. It will probably be one of my first investments if FishMoto makes me decent money.

edit:
Quote:
Hello from Vienna,

depending on the iDevice i am using currently still using the Capturing Hardware from Hauppauge (HD PVR/Hauppauge Collosus).

50% of the Time it works as it should do, 50% Times you are having Troubles like Graphic Glitches, Slow Downs,.. the List is really long so you should get that Hardware "only" if you are ready to dumb your Money really.

Since this all is making me really sick i`ll get myself next Month a DeckLink HD Extreme 3D Card so i can be sure that if i see a Lagg again in the Future i can be sure that it is the iDevice/App/... and not the Capturing Card.

Have a nice Day,

Sanuku