Support our Sponsors:

Go Back   Touch Arcade > Games and Apps > General Game Discussion and Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-19-2011, 05:10 PM
Dan007 Dan007 is offline
Senior Member
iPad (4th Gen), iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Russia
Posts: 229
Default GTA 3 Graphics modding guide (must see)!

ENABLING A5 EFFECTS ON A4 DEVICES:
All us Iphone 4 users (A4 chip) know how many graphical features were removed from GTA 3 in favor of a `performance boost`! These include:
*No traffic lights
*Low-res textures
*No car lights
*No night lights (including pole lights)
*Basically no light effects AT ALL, not even the sun effects!
*No shadows
*No blood effects
Did all these (apparently unnecessary) sacrifices give crispy, solid performance? NO!
The game is still jittery and sometimes reaches unplayable framerates on iphone 4. Well, then why should we deal with much less pretty graphics if there is a way to enjoy this:

By modding the gta3.set file.

INSTRUCTIONS:
1. Download XVI32 (or any other hex editor you like)
2. Download iExplorer (a program that lets you browse files on your iphone)
3. Open iExplorer and connect your iphone 4 (with gta 3 installed) to your PC via USB.
4. You should see a selection of catalogs of your iphone 4 in iExplorer. Under APPS, find gta3 (a folder with a name starting with com.rockstargames...). in that folder, open the `Documents` folder. There should be a gta3.set file there.
5. Extract the file and open it with a hex editor (e.g. XVI32)
6. Find the following registers to enable the effects:
Register 0x67C is responsible for enabling \ disabling lighting effects (lights, lamps, flashing lights): 00 - off, 02 - on
Register 0x678 is responsible for enabling \ disabling shadows under objects: 00 - off, 01 - on
Register 0x676 is responsible for resolution... in Ipad 80 (HiRes), in DHD 19 (LowRes)"
7. FOR DRAW DISTANCE:
view distance varies gta3.set at offset 0x568. Here are all the levels are taken from the PC version, since the maximum

"66 66 E6", Maximum drawing distance
"66 66 DE",
"66 66 D6",
"66 66 CE",
"66 66 C6",
"66 66 BE",
"66 66 B6 ",
" 66 66 AE ", Medium drawing distance (good compromise performance/quality)
" 66 66 A6 ",
" 66 66 9E ",
" 66 66 96 "
" 66 66 8E ",
" 66 66 86 ",
" CC CC 7C ",
" CC CC 6C ",
" CC CC 5C ",
" CD CC 4C ". Minimum drawing disance
" CC CC A4 " iOS A4 chipset drawing distance (some sort of custom value)
8. Using the above instructions, edit the gta3.set file, and place it back in the Documents folder in iExplorer (replacing the old file). I found that medium draw distance, no shadows and all other effects enabled actually BOOSTS performance on the iphone 4 AND looks HEAPS better than the default preset Rockstar gave us.
9. Open GTA 3 on your iphone, and go to options - controls - reset defaults
10. Enjoy your much better looking and performing GTA 3!

IMPORTANT: you do NOT need to jailbreak or pirate the game in order to get these features!
PRESET FILES:Preset gta3.set file (no shadows, lights, med. draw distance, better textures, blood etc.):gta3.set
Another preset with MAX. Graphics settings (blood, shadows, max. draw distance, traffic lights): gta3.set MAX
First preset file with enabled traffic lights and better blood (best preset so far/no FPS lost): gta3.set BEST
UPDATE:For some bizarre reason, when shadows are turned off, traffic lights and blood get turned off as well. So if you are willing to sacrifice 2-3 FPS for those, enable shadows

COMING SOON: Custom vehicles guide + enabling Xbox vehicles for A4 devices!

Last edited by Dan007; 12-20-2011 at 05:32 AM.. Reason: Added a useful file
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-19-2011, 05:16 PM
Booch138 Booch138 is offline
Senior Member
iPod Touch (4th Gen), iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Coolidge, AZ
Posts: 5,780
Default

Well done Dan007!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-19-2011, 05:20 PM
Madman100 Madman100 is offline
Senior Member
iPod Touch (4th Gen), iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,201
Default

I think u forgot no tire skid marks.. This is partly the reason some people found the controls unresponsive as they hit the E break and ran head on into a wall.

And umm.. I think the game runs fine, just a minor crashing issue when memory gets too heavy. Is this recommended for iPod touch users? I can't help but call bull when u say it actually 'performs better'.

Last edited by Madman100; 12-19-2011 at 05:27 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-19-2011, 05:24 PM
squarezero squarezero is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,810
Default

Are the rules at TA really that hard? This is the the 6th thread I've had to move today, and I have to say that it's getting pretty tedious.

Is your thread about a new game? Put it the iPhone and iPod Touch Game section.

Is it about an existing game? Don't create a new thread; post your comment in the existing thread.

Is your information way too important for the thread? Get over yourself.

Is really, really too important for it to mingle with other folks comments? Create a new thread in the General Game Discussion section.

Can't understand these instructions? DON'T CREATE A NEW THREAD!

I know it happens by accident, but I can't help feeling that some folks don't care because "the mod will fix it." Well, we've got better things to do, like fend off the constant barrage of spam threads.

/Rant

This sounds neat. On the Mac you can access these files also with PhoneView.

Last edited by Red1; 12-20-2011 at 11:04 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-19-2011, 05:34 PM
Dan007 Dan007 is offline
Senior Member
iPad (4th Gen), iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Russia
Posts: 229
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by squarezero View Post
Are the rules at TA really that hard? This is the the 6th thread I've had to move today, and I have to say that it's getting pretty f@cking tedious.
Sorry about that. I actually realized my mistake right after I posted the thread.
This little trick worked flawlessly for me, so why not share it with such great forums with expansive community (and hard-working mods - that thread move was way too fast )
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-19-2011, 05:35 PM
MKplayer1start MKplayer1start is offline
Senior Member
iPad 2, iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 131
Default

I'm sure they were removed for a reason but interesting you found a way to turn the features back on. it has to run slower with the features on though
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-19-2011, 05:36 PM
squarezero squarezero is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan007 View Post
Sorry about that. I actually realized my mistake right after I posted the thread.
This little trick worked flawlessly for me, so why not share it with such great forums with expansive community (and hard-working mods - that thread move was way too fast )
Nothing personal -- I actually think the thread has great info. I guess I'm getting a little testy .

BTW, two minutes after I finished with this thread, I had to move another one
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-19-2011, 05:42 PM
Xapped Xapped is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 4, OS 4.x
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 306
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by squarezero View Post
Are the rules at TA really that hard? This is the the 6th thread I've had to move today, and I have to say that it's getting pretty f@cking tedious.

Is your thread about a new game? Put it the iPhone and iPod Touch Game section.

Is it about an existing game? Don't create a new thread; post your comment in the existing thread.

Is your information way too important for the thread? Get over yourself.

Is really, really too important for it to mingle with other folks comments? Create a new thread in the General Game Discussion section.

Can't understand these instructions? DON'T CREATE A NEW THREAD!

I know it happens by accident, but I can't help feeling that some folks don't give a crap because "the mod will fix it." Well, we've got better things to do, like fend off the constant barrage of spam threads.

/Rant

This sounds neat. On the Mac you can access these files also with PhoneView.
wow..

Anyway, you can see that the A4 draw distance is slightly above CC CC 7C. It's different from the normal 66 66 XX - maybe reduced spawn rate or something?

[By the way, I seriously suggest EVERYONE to try it. I don't feel a FPS reduction at all.]

Also, Rockstar should have added AA as settings. We won't be able to run it, but in a few years when we got our iPhone 5Ses, we can come back to old games with better graphics.

Last edited by Xapped; 12-19-2011 at 05:49 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-19-2011, 05:51 PM
FeNoMeN FeNoMeN is offline
Senior Member
iPhone (Original), iOS 1.x
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 235
Default

can you explain better for us who dont know to work with hex editor?i use search but can find symbols that you post in first post...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-19-2011, 06:01 PM
ilStugots ilStugots is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 196
Default

Cant wait for all the people to do this on their ancient iPod 2's then go write 1 star reviews because the game is unplayable.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2012, TouchArcade.com, LLC.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2008 - 2011, TouchArcade.com. Privacy Policy / DMCA Copyright Agent