Support our Sponsors:

Go Back   Touch Arcade > Games and Apps > General Game Discussion and Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-15-2012, 08:01 PM
bacon-N-eggs bacon-N-eggs is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 4, iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 173
Default iControlpad? Anyone have one?

Looking into a iControlpad for my iPhone

I know it will only play icade games for now, but LOE 1, and LOE 2, goat up, all the great orange pixel games alone would be well worth the cost!

If they work well I'm ordering one!!!! But I have not seen or heard from a "real owner" yet.

Also would I need to jailbreak to use it? I hope not
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-15-2012, 09:45 PM
mekanikal fiend mekanikal fiend is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 4, OS 4.x
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 767
Default

i have one. have had it for about 4 or 5 months. been sitting unused in my drawer about the whole time. it works ok, but i think mine might have been defective because one of the directions (left if i remember correct) would have about a half second pause before registering , also that same direction would cut out intermittently.

you dont need a jailbreak, but you will need a usb bluetooth dongle to update the firmware on the actual controller. you can play icade games out of the box, but if you are jailbroken you can use it on the Emulators that are on Cydia. however, the wii mote with the virtual controller work much better, and you might already have them laying around (need jailbreak for wii controllers so...)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-17-2012, 11:42 PM
krispydp krispydp is offline
Junior Member
iPhone 4, iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 20
Default Mapping custom buttons

I'm wondering about this too. It says on their website that their new firmware allows you to map game controls that don't have icade support onto the buttons you want on the icontrolpad. Has anyone done that?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-19-2012, 11:51 PM
bacon-N-eggs bacon-N-eggs is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 4, iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 173
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krispydp View Post
I'm wondering about this too. It says on their website that their new firmware allows you to map game controls that don't have icade support onto the buttons you want on the icontrolpad. Has anyone done that?
I really thought a few guys would have them, I might just order one anyways.... It's only money right? Haha
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-28-2012, 10:39 AM
spinal spinal is offline
Member
iPad 2, iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 49
Default

I have one. It does what it says it does. All iCade games work with it and with extra software, you can use touch games with it too (must be jailbroken). The shoulder buttons get in the way when you need to put it down though, sometimes pressing accidentally.
I have found this kit to be far better. Using an existing NES or SNES joypad, you can control any iCade game, plus with my latest update, I have added normal keyboard functionality, so you can use it on a large range of computer games which allow keyboard input. The settings on the joypad itself allow all of the buttons to be redefined without reflashing or special software, as the entire process (switching between NES and SNES mode, redefining the iCade buttons, switching between iCade and keyboard mode) can be done using any text editor. Not only that, the device plus an official camera connection kit (required to attach to iDevice) is cheaper than most, if not all, of the bluetooth controllers. Not to mention the fact that you can use this one on a plane without any signal issues :P
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-28-2012, 02:54 PM
JBRUU JBRUU is offline
Senior Member
iPad (4th Gen), iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 6,564
Default

Is there any way to play, say, mc3 or shadowgun with a bluetooth controller on a jail broken device?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-28-2012, 03:53 PM
spinal spinal is offline
Member
iPad 2, iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JBRUU View Post
Is there any way to play, say, mc3 or shadowgun with a bluetooth controller on a jail broken device?
If those are touch controls, then you should be able to use bluetrol (cydia tweak) to emulate touches using iCade, iControlpad, Gametel, SNES chip or any other controller which has iCade emulation.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-28-2012, 04:25 PM
hamster787 hamster787 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 658
Default

i have the gametel, got it cos its a cheaper option and because most things are icade compatible only, the analogue sticks on the ICP are not useful for most apps, i use it with blutrol (cydia $5.99) and i love it
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-29-2012, 11:19 AM
crunc crunc is offline
👮 Spam Police 🚓
iPhone 4
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4,066
Default

I have an iControlPad. IMHO it's functional, but cheap feeling. Plus most games don't translate well to it because they are all designed with the iCade in mind and buttons often map weirdly to the iCP with some key buttons set to Start/Select, making the games pretty unplayable. Moreover, if you happen to have any games that are specifically designed for the iCP, such as Vertex Blaster, well you can't play those games without unpairing and repairing because they work differently. If lots of games supported the iCP directly this wouldn't be a big deal, but they don't. Actually if they'd just offer an iCP layout option, but use the same connection technique as the iCade, that would work well.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-30-2012, 03:09 AM
spinal spinal is offline
Member
iPad 2, iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crunc View Post
I have an iControlPad. IMHO it's functional, but cheap feeling. Plus most games don't translate well to it because they are all designed with the iCade in mind and buttons often map weirdly to the iCP with some key buttons set to Start/Select, making the games pretty unplayable.
With the SNES/NES adapter, you can change the layout whenever you like using no other software than you have already (a text editor). The process is very simple and painless. If your layout is wrong, just jump into 'Notes', change the layout, then jump back into your game.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2012, TouchArcade.com, LLC.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2008 - 2011, TouchArcade.com. Privacy Policy / DMCA Copyright Agent