Support our Sponsors:

Go Back   Touch Arcade > Games and Apps > General Game Discussion and Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-15-2013, 11:40 PM
KennyK KennyK is offline
Banned
iPhone 4, iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Scarlett Johansson's Hot Tub
Posts: 5,046
Default Creating An Overseas iTunes Account

Thought this would be a handy guide for anyone who may wish to create another overseas iTunes account, but do not have any payment details and/or gift cards. This would be useful when wanting to play a game that has not been released in your country yet.

- On your computer, open iTunes
- Scroll down to bottom and click flag icon. Then select country you wish to create your new account
- Search for a free game, download it, and when the sign in box appears, say you wish to create a new account
- Fill in the details etc (Not sure how smart Apple is, but I suggest finding a real address/phone number etc in the country you wish to make the account)
- When asked to select payment method, click "None"
- Activate your new account, and voila!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-16-2013, 12:07 AM
Nobunaga Nobunaga is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 949
Default

You don't need a proper address or phone number.
You will need a "zip" code that works for the country you're selecting.
The zip code may need to match the city you're in. I'm not sure.
Canada is letter, number,letter, space, number, letter, number.
Examples v2v 2v2, t3r 7e5, v0j 2c0.
America is five numbers.
Examples 59937, 81611, 28168
New Zealand is four numbers
Examples 0466, 1140, 1644.
I'm assuming most people viewing this are looking for NZ accounts at the moment. All these NZ zip codes are for Auckland. Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-16-2013, 12:13 AM
Connector Connector is offline
In Time-Out
iPad (4th Gen), iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: In the Chatroom
Posts: 14,835
Default

I don't have a laptop and all the other computers I use I am not allowed to install anything personal like itunes.

Can I do this with just my ipad?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-16-2013, 12:29 AM
KennyK KennyK is offline
Banned
iPhone 4, iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Scarlett Johansson's Hot Tub
Posts: 5,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobunaga View Post
You don't need a proper address or phone number.
You will need a "zip" code that works for the country you're selecting.
The zip code may need to match the city you're in. I'm not sure.
Canada is letter, number,letter, space, number, letter, number.
Examples v2v 2v2, t3r 7e5, v0j 2c0.
America is five numbers.
Examples 59937, 81611, 28168
New Zealand is four numbers
Examples 0466, 1140, 1644.
I'm assuming most people viewing this are looking for NZ accounts at the moment. All these NZ zip codes are for Auckland. Cheers.
Thanks for that. I did it a while ago so wasn't sure, but I do recall having to get the zip code right. Cheers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Connector View Post
I don't have a laptop and all the other computers I use I am not allowed to install anything personal like itunes.

Can I do this with just my ipad?
I'm sorry I do not know. You may need to Google that one.

If you would like, I could help you create an account and let you know all the details etc. But that would have to wait until tomorrow as I have work tonight...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-16-2013, 01:00 AM
KevinS KevinS is offline
Senior Member
iPod Touch (4th Gen), iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 528
Default

I used the address of a cheese factory when I made my US account.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-22-2013, 05:18 PM
Nobunaga Nobunaga is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 949
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Connector View Post
I don't have a laptop and all the other computers I use I am not allowed to install anything personal like itunes.

Can I do this with just my ipad?
Yes. Google or YouTube how to do it with an iPhone. It'll explain it better than I can.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-22-2013, 06:42 PM
Connector Connector is offline
In Time-Out
iPad (4th Gen), iOS 7.x
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: In the Chatroom
Posts: 14,835
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobunaga View Post
Yes. Google or YouTube how to do it with an iPhone. It'll explain it better than I can.
My friend got me one, thanks guys.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-22-2013, 07:18 PM
chris1a chris1a is offline
Senior Member
iPad Air
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,267
Default

You probably don't want some dudes real address since there are most likely some laws involved there that could get you or your account in trouble I'd guess. I used Cleveland's from the Cleveland show if I remember correctly.

Anyone know if its possible to transfer/convert an account to another country with payment info and everything? I keep investing money in an app on my US account, and I'd really like to switch it to a Swedish account so I can use my CCs to pay. I'd have to change the name etc tho...but I'm sure that would go unnoticed...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-22-2013, 07:27 PM
KevinS KevinS is offline
Senior Member
iPod Touch (4th Gen), iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 528
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris1a View Post
You probably don't want some dudes real address since there are most likely some laws involved there that could get you or your account in trouble I'd guess. I used Cleveland's from the Cleveland show if I remember correctly.

Anyone know if its possible to transfer/convert an account to another country with payment info and everything? I keep investing money in an app on my US account, and I'd really like to switch it to a Swedish account so I can use my CCs to pay. I'd have to change the name etc tho...but I'm sure that would go unnoticed...
I think as long as there's no remaining iTunes credit in the account you can transfer it to a different country.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2012, TouchArcade.com, LLC.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2008 - 2011, TouchArcade.com. Privacy Policy / DMCA Copyright Agent