Support our Sponsors:

Go Back   Touch Arcade > Developer Discussion > Public Game Developers Forum

Old 03-08-2013, 03:16 AM

Default GameSalad Game Quality V Stencyl

Hi All
I'm sure this has been talked about to death, but I'm new to this and
thought I might get a couple of opinions.

I've looked at both Game Salad & Stencyl, and it seems that the
game salad games look much more polished app games, title, graphics, sounds level lock screens etc. They just follow the typical app format.

Stencyl games look much more retro and lower quality. ( no disrespect to Stencyl developers)

Anyone any thoughts on this do more professional developers with better resources use gamesalad and Stencyl is more aimed at the amateur market.

Steve
Old 03-08-2013, 06:42 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevewh View Post
Hi All
I'm sure this has been talked about to death, but I'm new to this and
thought I might get a couple of opinions.

I've looked at both Game Salad & Stencyl, and it seems that the
game salad games look much more polished app games, title, graphics, sounds level lock screens etc. They just follow the typical app format.

Stencyl games look much more retro and lower quality. ( no disrespect to Stencyl developers)

Anyone any thoughts on this do more professional developers with better resources use gamesalad and Stencyl is more aimed at the amateur market.

Steve
Hmm, by any chance, are you Steve Felter, CEO of GameSalad?
Old 03-09-2013, 08:00 AM
Developer
iPad (4th Gen), iOS 6.x

Send a message via AIM to MarkFromBitmenStudios

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevewh View Post

Professional developers use professional tools. These non-coding tools are both for amateurs.
Old 03-09-2013, 08:06 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkFromBitmenStudios View Post
Professional developers use professional tools. These non-coding tools are both for amateurs.
You can get the best of both worlds with the Playmaker plugin in Unity3D.
Non-coding in a pro tool
Old 03-10-2013, 03:48 AM