Support our Sponsors:

Go Back   Touch Arcade > Developer Discussion > Public Game Developers Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-18-2013, 07:37 AM
pixelzapp pixelzapp is offline
Junior Member
iPhone 4, iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 15
Default choppy Framerate with Elgato game capture HD.

I'm recording some footage of my new game using an iphone 5, hdmi adaptor and a Elgato Game Capture.

Overall the Elgato has been fantastic & really easy to use. The problem I've got is that the game runs smoothly at 60fps on the phone .. but the resulting video is ever so slightly choppy.

anybody got any tips on how to get around this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-19-2013, 12:11 AM
ChaoticBox's Avatar
ChaoticBox ChaoticBox is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 859
Default

Unfortunately you're kinda SOL capturing from devices that use Lightning ports. Details here: http://www.panic.com/blog/2013/03/th...pter-surprise/ and this comment in particular: http://www.panic.com/blog/2013/03/th...#comment-16841 Basically you're not getting pristine HDMI output, it's video encoded through the same pipe used by AirPlay. So anything that stutters through AirPlay (which is mostly everything) will stutter through the Lightning HDMI adapter.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-19-2013, 03:34 AM
pixelzapp pixelzapp is offline
Junior Member
iPhone 4, iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks for the info ChaoticBox - I'll try switching back to the iPad3.

Anyone know if it's possible to get a 60fps video out of the elgato?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-19-2013, 06:53 AM
GlennX's Avatar
GlennX GlennX is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 723
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pixelzapp View Post
Thanks for the info ChaoticBox - I'll try switching back to the iPad3.

Anyone know if it's possible to get a 60fps video out of the elgato?
You might get closer to 60FPS if you disable Retina. Presumably the video encoding takes some CPU (and GPU?) and the huge size of the retina display buffer as only going to add to that.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-19-2013, 11:49 AM
pixelzapp pixelzapp is offline
Junior Member
iPhone 4, iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 15
Default

after a bit more research:
The elgato can output 60fps when the input is 720p.
My ipad3 / iphone5 output 1020p - which the elgato can only output at 30fps.

So I'll have to work out how to force the games second screen to be 720p. Anyone got any examples of how to do this?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-03-2013, 09:09 AM
pixelzapp pixelzapp is offline
Junior Member
iPhone 4, iOS 5.x
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 15
Default

I found a solution which allows me to capture at 60fps at 720p:

The iPhone/iPad scales it's output depending on what device it is connected to. The elgato game capture HD reports a 1080p device. To get a 720p signal I've plugged my phone into a HDMI splitter and then have the splitter feeding to a HDReady TV (720p) and to the Elgato game capture HD. This results in my phone 'seeing' the 720p TV and outputting a 720p signal .. which in turn allows the elgato to capture at 60fps.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2012, TouchArcade.com, LLC.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2008 - 2011, TouchArcade.com. Privacy Policy / DMCA Copyright Agent