Support our Sponsors:

Go Back   Touch Arcade > Developer Discussion > Public Game Developers Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-18-2013, 10:04 AM
Shaz's Avatar
Shaz Shaz is offline
Senior Member
iPod Touch (3rd Gen)
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 416
Default New iOS dev portal. No ad hoc?

So the Apple dev portal has been updated. There now seems to be no distinction between ad hoc apps and store apps. Which I think is better.

So just want to check that people have been ok submitting games to Apple when an app profile had previously been checked as ad hoc under the old system.

I'm guessing that is working ok?

Last edited by Shaz; 04-19-2013 at 12:53 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-18-2013, 11:12 PM
DungeonPlunder's Avatar
DungeonPlunder DungeonPlunder is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 4, iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Drummondville, Qc, Canada
Posts: 438
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaz View Post
So the Apple dev portal has been updated. There now seems to be no distinction between ad hoc games apps and store apps. Which I think is better.

So just want to check that people have been ok submitting games to Apple when an app profile had previously been checked as ad hoc under the old system.

I'm guessing that is working ok?
I'd guess so - still using my old production profile which I just regenerated for iCloud. Will report if I face any issue.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-19-2013, 12:54 PM
Shaz's Avatar
Shaz Shaz is offline
Senior Member
iPod Touch (3rd Gen)
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 416
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DungeonPlunder View Post
I'd guess so - still using my old production profile which I just regenerated for iCloud. Will report if I face any issue.
Cheers. I'd assume they'd still work. But be good to hear confirmation.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-21-2013, 06:51 AM
Appvism Appvism is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 4, iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 181
Default

So for testing on my own devices, i had used an ad hoc distribution provisional profile.

When I submitted an app, for the first time ever, after the website had been updated I still created a separate distribution profile for app store before rebuilding my app with this (i'm using Corona by the way).

My impression was simply that they had simply redesigned/re-laid out the website - there was still the option in profiles section to select which type of distribution you want. I wasn't paying full attention and this was a few days ago (my app is still waiting for review) so don't quote me on this!

Cheers,
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-21-2013, 02:06 PM
Shaz's Avatar
Shaz Shaz is offline
Senior Member
iPod Touch (3rd Gen)
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 416
Default

Seems my assumptions may have been incorrect.

There is still a distinction between ad hoc and store profiles. The new difference is that you can no longer update an ad hoc profile to be a store profile.

Instead it looks like you have to create a separate profile when ready to release.

I used to have just one profile per app and switch between ad hoc and store as needed.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-25-2013, 04:11 PM
Appvism Appvism is offline
Senior Member
iPhone 4, iOS 6.x
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 181
Default

That was my initial impression too. Need to now create another provisional profile for app store but current Apple's iOS Dev site is down again for maintenance...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-25-2013, 09:25 PM
mr.Ugly's Avatar
mr.Ugly mr.Ugly is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,627
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaz View Post
Seems my assumptions may have been incorrect.

There is still a distinction between ad hoc and store profiles. The new difference is that you can no longer update an ad hoc profile to be a store profile.

Instead it looks like you have to create a separate profile when ready to release.

I used to have just one profile per app and switch between ad hoc and store as needed.
your right.. who comes up with such silly changes.. now you can't even see the difference anymore between adhoc and appstore .. since its all called distribution.. and somehow the page is borked up in FF.

At least the new page is pretty slow, the old one loaded alot faster for me. :/
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright 2012, TouchArcade.com, LLC.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2008 - 2011, TouchArcade.com. Privacy Policy / DMCA Copyright Agent