Support our Sponsors:

Go Back   Touch Arcade > Games and Apps > iPhone and iPad Games

Old 08-02-2013, 01:52 PM
iPhone 5, iOS 7.x

Default Starborn Wanderers HD

I just started playing this the other day. It's actually pretty decent. The writing could be better - it reads like it was translated by someone who knows English well but not as a first language. It reminds me a lot of Warpgate. I think the main differences are that combat is turn based instead of realtime and the world maybe isn't as open - it seems much more story driven.

One thing - the game does a lot of handholding at the beginning - don't let that turn you off. Eventually, you gain full control and can pretty much go anywhere (though the quest system guides you very strongly on a certain path). I also keep having this feeling there will be an IAP paywall eventually, but so far so good.

Old 08-02-2013, 09:42 PM
iPhone 5s, iOS 7.x

I actually saw this on kotaku earlier today. I just picked it up.
Old 08-03-2013, 12:50 AM
iPad (3rd Gen), iOS 5.x

The game is great.
First paywall is on 9 level, it's not too hard to overcome it. I'm 16 level now.
Old 08-03-2013, 06:09 AM
iPhone 5, iOS 7.x

I have had some crashes on my iPad 2. Not so happy with that, but so far it hasn't destroyed data (just maybe set me back a bit). Loading and displaying various windows is also kinda slow. But in general I'm having fun with it.
Old 08-04-2013, 06:10 AM
iPad Air, iOS 7.x

The bad:
The game is one huge paywall. All good equipment costs ridiculous amounts of its premium currency, compared to what I got so far (lvl 13 atm).
Even the standard currency gold is in short supply, when I look at what I could get.
Worst thing is that your default hyperdrive has a very small fuel supply only, and recharges quite slowly. Guess how you can get past that, and the answer that does not say "consumable IAP" does not count.

The good:
Very polished, story is quite good too so far. Plays smooth, graphics are good.