Support our Sponsors:

Go Back   Touch Arcade > Games and Apps > iPhone and iPad Games

Old 08-20-2013, 02:35 PM

Default Happy birthday, H.P. Lovecraft! The Ball of Cthulhu [Universal] is out now!

Greetings Touch Arcade!

Fellow game developer EFGames encouraged me to post here, so here we go!

I'm an indie game developer, and The Ball of Cthulhu is what resulted when I combined my love of the H.P. Lovecraft Cthulhu mythos, casual game play puzzle mechanics, and something resembling an old-school challenge (AKA "NES hard"). Remember back when games were a little tough but skill, ingenuity and a bit of luck would overcome the level? That's the mindset I had when play balancing and tuning the game.

The Ball of Cthulhu was inspired by H.P. Lovecraft's weird tales, in particular any that dealt with the Cthulhu mythos. You'll get it if you're into it. Game play-wise, TBoC has been called a dark, demented, and challenging take on Peggle and other puzzle games. I had started off wanting to do a pinball/breakout game, but soon embraced the comparison, so to say.

That being said, glad to be here, and hope you all have fun with it!
Old 08-20-2013, 02:45 PM
iPad (4th Gen), iOS 6.x

Looks like lots of crazy fun! I have been waiting for more Cthulhu apps to show up and it does look like a crazy version of something like pachinko or Peggle. I can tell you've put lots of time and polish into this! I am downloading now! The stars are telling me I'm going to love this one!
Old 08-20-2013, 02:56 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by vaelsh View Post
Looks like lots of crazy fun! I have been waiting for more Cthulhu apps to show up and it does look like a crazy version of something like pachinko or Peggle. I can tell you've put lots of time and polish into this! I am downloading now! The stars are telling me I'm going to love this one!
Thank you! Our team of two (myself and Claudia Sutton, artist extrordinaire) appreciate your comment!