Support our Sponsors:

Go Back   Touch Arcade > Developer Discussion > Public Game Developers Forum

Old 01-22-2010, 12:48 PM
iPhone 3G, OS 3.x

Send a message via MSN to MindJuice Send a message via Skype™ to MindJuice
Default freeappaday.com is NOT free for developers!!!

As an indie developer, I've been in contact with many other indie developers that I have met through the TA community and through other sites.

I feel that there is a spirit of camaraderie and common purpose between so many of us, and I try to help out others whenever I can. I don't ask for money or anything in return. In fact right now I am working on adding free ads into one of my games for two other indie developers.

As indie developers we struggle to get ourselves noticed and make a living doing what we love. Most of us are not making very much money, even those among us that manage to earn enough to make a living at it.

I recently considered offering my first game, Charmed, free for a day to get a larger base of players to whom I might be able to market my upcoming games in the future.

I saw the number of downloads generated by games that were featured in the Appvent Calendar website over Christmas, and I had heard about FreeAppaDay.com, where a developer could have their game featured for a day and be able to garner 100,000 or more free downloads.

I contacted them to find out what information they needed from me and was rather shocked to get their reply, which among other things, contained the following:

Quote:
It seems like your game meets our submission criteria, We are currently running a January discount for qualified apps for our four remaining February dates. We're charging $600 instead of our regular $1200 before we move on to our March Campaign Planning. Your app will be promoted for 24H and once it switches to paid it will remain on our site for an entire month!